The Yurii Simonov Memorial Prize for 2017 was awarded Diana Chisca for her contribution in design, synthesis, and X-ray structural study of the Co(II) crystalline coordination polymers of different dimensionality with mixed ligands such as dicarboxylic acids and bis(pyridine) ligands of different rigidity, or nicotinamide-like ligands. Such materials revealed the reversible single-crystal-to-single-crystal transformations accompanied by changing of color under the solvent molecules release/uptake. The synthesis of new materials together with study of adsorption, magnetic, spectral, and mechanical properties represent a valuable step for development of smart materials based on coordination polymers. Diana Chisca has graduated from Tiraspol State University of Moldova in 2004 and currently is affiliated with Institute of Applied Physics, Moldova Academy of Science, where she is finishing her PhD thesis. The prize awarded for the work that is part of her PhD thesis. Diana Chisca combines her research activity with teaching activities in Moldova State University in Chisinau.  

Dr Chisca (winner of 2017 Prize)



The Yurii Simonov Memorial Prize for 2016 was awarded Dr. Sergiu Shova for his valuable contribution in crystallographic structural X-ray study of crystalline materials built-up from discrete molecular and polymeric architectures based on 3d transition metals and flexible ligands containing silane and siloxane units. His research allowed to connect the structure of those materials with their physical properties. Doctor Serjiu Shova has graduated from State University of Moldova in 1980 and obtained PhD  in Chemistry in 1985. Dr. Shova is well recognized researcher in chemistry and crystallography of coordination and supramolecular compounds. Sergiu Shova taught courses in inorganic chemistry, crystallography and X-ray crystal structure analysis. Dr. Shova is affiliated with State University of Moldova, The Institute for Applied Physics of Moldova Academy of Science, The Institute of Chemistry of Moldova Academy of Science, The Zoology Institute of Moldova Academy of Science, and “Petru Poni” Institute of Macromolecular Chemistry in Romania. He was involved as a principal investigator and executor in a number of international research projects. Dr. Shova has published about 200 scientific papers in prestigious refereed international journals.  

Dr Shova (winner of 2016 Prize) and Prof. Lipkowski



The Yurii Simonov Memorial Prize for 2015 was awarded  to Dr. Viorel Felea for pioneering ultrasound spectroscopy investigations
of novel field-induced structural transitions in complex magnetic materials performed
in high magnetic fields up to 65 T. His work helps in  elucidating the role of the spin-lattice coupling and of the mechanisms of the spin and orbital induced transformations in ternary magnetic spinels perspective for spintronic applications.

Dr Viorel Felea


The Yurii Simonov Memorial Prize 2014 for seasoned researchers was awarded to Dr. hab. sci. Veaceslav Ursaki (Institute of Electronic Engineering and Nanotechnologies, Academy of Sciences of Moldova) for the series of publications under the general title Order disorder effects and pressure induced phase transitions in AIIBIII2XVI4 compounds”. This study generalizes the most stable as-grown structures of AIIBIII2XVI4 compounds with S and Se as X, their high pressure phases, and their structures upon decompression. It was shown that most of thioindates are cubic spinels, selenoindates are of either tetragonal structures or rhombohedral layered structures, while most of gallates and aluminates crystallize in tetragonal structures (defect chalcopyrites or defect stanites). New insights were brought  into the pressure induced disordering processes, and the scheme of pressure induced phase transitions was revealed by means of Raman scattering study, XRD experiments and optical measurements under hydrostatic pressure in this class of compounds. Understanding of structure-property relationship in these materials can have profound implications in many fields, particularly in improving their optoelectronic applications.




Lilia Croitor2013 Prize was awarded to Dr. Lilia Croitor (Institute of Applied Physics, Academy of Sciences of Moldova) for series of publications under the title " Molecular design and crystallographic studies of Cu(II), Zn(II) and Cd(II) coordination compounds as the hosts for small molecules inclusion ". The object of this study represents the controlled design and single crystal X-ray analysis of the mixed ligand Cu(II), Zn(II) and Cd(II) dioximates/dioximes as a new family  of potentially porous materials with useful properties. It has been demonstrated that the bulkiness of the 1,2-cyclohexanedionedioxime molecule along with the conformational flexibility of its cyclohexyl ring provides an access to the loosely packed compounds capable of accumulating guest molecules. Such host�guest systems demonstrate luminescence response to the guest inclusion (in majority of compounds � quenching of luminescence).

Our sincere congratulations to Dr. Croitor!



n May of 2012 Scientific Committee and the Board decided to award two prizes of $1000 each:

Prize for seasoned researchers was awarded to Dr. Paulina Bourosh (Institute of Applied Physics, Academy of Sciences of Moldova) and Prof. Mihail Revenco (State University of Moldova) for the series of publications under the general titleCrystallographic studies for establishing pathways of chemical reactions in complicated systems�. By applying X ray technique, Bourosh and Revenco have been able not only to determine  the structure of the  new compounds, but also to discover  the ways of  the development of the chemical reactions activated and promoted by the presence of the metallic ions,  new arrangement of the  atoms and chemical bonds, resulting finally in new properties of the materials.

Prize for younger researchers was awarded to Dr. Denis Prodius (Institute of Chemistry, Academy of Sciences of Moldova) for series of publications under the title �Synthesis and investigation of polynuclear metal (s-, d- and f-) carboxylates as modern multifunctional materials�. The application of Dr. Prodius was focused on coordination clusters with unusual magnetic interactions and  biologically active compounds. The single crystal X-ray method played a crucial role in his investigations for the determination of molecular structures of novel compounds. Especially, this has been pronouncedly shown in his works related with Single Molecule Magnets, which are a special class of metal-organic clusters that possess purely individual magnetic properties, with each molecule able to be individually magnetized. A variety of different clusters were synthesized by Denis Prodius as precursors for obtaining more than 50 new substances in crystalline form and the crystal structure for 18 of them were analyzed.

Dr Bourosh receives the 2012 prizeDr. Bourosh receiving the 2012 Prize


Prof Revenco receiving the 2012 PrizeProf. Revenco receiving 2012 Prize


Dr. Prodius receiving 2012 Prize



Those interested in applying should read to TO APPLY. If there are questions, see CONTACTS.

Those interested in supporting this effort to encourage young people in public service, please see TO DONATE. We are proud that every dollar contributed goes directly to prizes, none to overhead or any other administrative expense. When you donate to us, you KNOW where your money goes.